Q. Who among the following was established the “The United Provinces Kisan Sabha”?

[A] Gauri Shankar Mishra

[B] Madan Mohan Malaviya

[C] Jhinguri Singh

[D] Durgapal Singh

Answer: A

Explanation: After the 1857 revolt, the Awadh taluqdars had got back their lands. This strengthened the hold of the taluqdars or big landlords over the agrarian society of the province.

  • The majority of the cultivators were subjected to high rents, summary evictions (bedakhali), illegal levies, renewal fees or nazrana.
  • The First World War had hiked the prices of food and other necessities. This worsened the conditions of the UP peasants.
  • Mainly due to the efforts of the Home Rule activists, kisan sabhas were organised in UP.
  • The United Provinces Kisan Sabha was set up in February 1918 by Gauri Shankar Mishra and Indra Narayan Dwivedi. Madan Mohan Malaviya supported their efforts.

Source: Tamil Nadu NCERT