Q. Who among the following was founded the “satyagraha sabha”?

[A] Gopala Krishna Goakhle

[B] M. K. Gandhi

[C] Sardar Vallabhai Patel

[D] Jawaharlal Nehru

Answer: B

Explanation: It was as part of the British policy of ‘rally the moderates and isolate the extremists’ that the Indian Councils Act 1919 and the Rowlatt Act of the same year were promulgated.

  • Despite every elected member of the central legislature opposing the bill, the government passed the Rowlatt Act in March 1919.
  • This Act empowered the government to imprison any person without trial. Gandhi and his associates were shocked.
  • It was the ‘Satyagraha Sabha’ founded by Gandhi, which pledged to disobey the Act first.

Source: Tamil Nadu NCERT