Q. With reference to Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization (ACTO) consider the following statements:
1.Peru is a member of the organization.
2.ACTO is a coalition of nations united to gain authority over the Amazon rainforest, which frequently results in disputes and harm to the environment.
3.Its secretariat is located in Brasilia, Brazil.
How many of the above statements are correct?

[A] Only one

[B] Only two

[C] All three

[D] None

Answer: B

Explanation –

Statements 1 and 3 are correct. Its member countries are Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Peru, Suriname, and Venezuela. Its secretariat is located in Brasilia, Brazil.

Statement 2 is incorrect. ACTO aims to promote sustainable development, environmental protection, and regional cooperation among its member countries in order to address various challenges facing the Amazon rainforest and its communities.

Source: ForumIAS