Revaluation of Minority Commission

Source: PIB

About National Commission of Minorities(NCM):
  • National Commission for Minorities (NCM) is a statutory body set up in 1993 under the National Commission for Minorities(NCM) Act, 1992.
  • Section 2 of the NCM Act stipulates that ‘Minority’ for the purposes of the Act means a community notified as such by the Central Government.
  • Initially, five religious communities namely Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, and Zoroastrians(Parsis) were notified as minority communities. In 2014, Jains were also notified as another minority community.
  • The Commission consists of: Chairperson, Vice- Chairperson, and five Members.
  • Hence, a total of 7 persons are to be nominated by the Central Government from amongst persons of eminence, ability, and integrity.
  • Each Member holds office for a period of three years from the date of assumption of office.
Functions of NCM:
  • evaluate the progress of the development of minorities under the Union and States;
  • monitor the working of the safeguards provided in the Constitution and in laws enacted by Parliament and the State Legislatures;
  • make recommendations for the effective implementation of safeguards for the protection of the interests of minorities by the Central Government or the State Governments;
  • look into specific complaints regarding deprivation of rights and safeguards of the minorities
  • recommend measures for the removal of problems arising out of any discrimination against minorities;
  • conduct studies, research, and analysis on the issues relating to the socio-economic and educational development of minorities;
  • suggest appropriate measures in respect of any minority to be undertaken by the Central Government or the State Governments;
  • make periodical or special reports to the Central Government on any matter pertaining to minorities and in particular difficulties confronted by them; and
  • any other matter which may be referred to it by the Central Government.
Print Friendly and PDF