UN Security Council

About: United Nations Security Council, United Nations (UN) organ whose primary responsibility is the maintenance of international peace and security.

Structure: The Security Council originally consisted of 11 members—five permanent members (the Republic of China [Taiwan], France, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, and the United States) and six non-permanent members elected by the UN General Assembly for two-year terms. An amendment to the UN Charter in 1965 increased council membership to 15, including the original five permanent members and 10 nonpermanent members.

Print Friendly and PDF