World must protect victims of wartime sexual violence’

World must protect victims of wartime sexual violence’


Nobel Peace Prize was presented to Congolese gynaecologist Denis Mukwege and Yazidi activist Nadia Murad

Important Facts:

  1. Dr. Mukwege and Ms. Murad have been awarded the prize for their efforts to stop rape and sexual violence being used as weapons of war.
  2. Dr. Mukwege has been awarded prize for defending victims of war-time sexual violence in African nation of Democratic Republic of Congo.
  3. Murad is one of an estimated 3,000 Yazidi girls and women who were victims of rape and other abuses by the IS army. Following here escape, she became spokeswoman for Yazidi women abused by the Islamic State group.

About Nobel Peace Prize

  1. The Nobel Peace Prize is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel (Swedish industrialist and inventor of dynamite. The others include prizes in medicine, physics, chemistry and literature
  2. Note: The economics award officially known as the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was created by Sweden’s central bank in 1968. 
Alternative Noble Prize
1. The Right Livelihood Award, often known as the Alternative Nobel Prize was established in 1980 by German-Swedish philanthropist Jakob von Uexkull
2. The awards are the awards given in fields such as environmental protection, human rights, sustainable development, health, education, and peace.
3. It is to be noted that the award does not have any organizational ties to the awarding institutions of the Nobel Prize or the Nobel Foundation.
Categories : Test 1 (5004)
Print Friendly and PDF